© 1998-2023 by
Verlag Christoph Dohr Köln

Montag, 02.01.2023 13:04


Adrian Connell

Chopin Variations (2009/2010)
for Orchestra

EURO 24,80


On the work

In 2009 at the Frankfurt Musikmesse, Andrzej Kosowski the chief editor of the music publisher Polskie Wydawnictwo Muzyczne, suggested I should write a work for the 2010 Chopin celebrations. While browsing his solo piano music I was captivated by his Tristesse Etude Op. 10 No. 3 and I decided to use this as the basis for a set of orchestral variations.
The work is strange in that the theme of the variations is never heard in full or in its original notation. The theme however is constantly referred to in each variation and people who know this etude will hear it clearly. The fullest statement of the theme anywhere near its original form is in the finale where the brass introduces the theme under a fugue which is played in the woodwind and strings.
The work consists of an introduction, seven variations and a coda where the opening fanfares are mixed in with fragments of themes heard throughout the work. The seven sections are: March, Romance, Siciliana, Waltz, Bossa Nova, Scherzo and trio, Fugue (Finale) and the coda. (Adrian Connell)

First performance: 19 December 2015, The Mick Jagger Centre, Dartford, Kent by Dartford Symphony Orchestra conducted by David Grubb.

Duration: 11 minutes


  • Piccolo
  • 2 Flutes
  • 2 Oboes
  • 2 Clarinets in B flat
  • 2 Bassoons
  • 4 Horns in F
  • 2 Trumpets in B flat
  • 2 Tenor Trombones
  • Bass Trombone
  • Tuba
  • Timpani
  • Percussion (2 players): Snare drum, Tam-tam, Glockenspiel, Crash Cymbals, Bass drum, Cabassa (shaker or maracas), Claves (or wood block)
  • Harp
  • Strings



Bewegen Sie die Maus über die Abbildungen, um Vergrößerungen angezeigt zu bekommen.



zurück zum Seitenanfang