© 1998-2024 by
Verlag Christoph Dohr Köln

Montag, 08.01.2024 11:20


Adrian Connell

Transformations (Symphony No. 4)

for ten players

EURO 29,80


On the work

When I started composing "Transformations" I had decided to create a simple structure. This was of a work based on a tone row that moved from a violent and stormy nature and that ended peacefully. As composition progressed the music began to fit into a pattern of a work that hinted at four different movements. With the whole work also based on the idea of continuing development and variation of its basic material, I eventually decided to add the subtitle Symphony No. 4. The work therefore loosely falls into a three-part first movement, a scherzo and trio, with only a hint of the scherzo returning after the trio, a slow movement and a finale. The movements play continuously:

  1. Fanfare, Flourish and Theme
  2. Scherzo and Trio
  3. Ostinatos and Canons
  4. Theme and Coda

Duration: 12 minutes


  • Flute (doubling piccolo)
  • Oboe
  • Clarinet in B flat (doubling bass clarinet)
  • Bassoon
  • Horn in F
  • Violin 1
  • Violin 2
  • Viola
  • Cello
  • Double Bass



Bewegen Sie die Maus über die Abbildungen, um Vergrößerungen angezeigt zu bekommen.



zurück zum Seitenanfang